PDA

View Full Version : Gay adoption

Paul
09-01--2006, 04:15 PM
After reading someone else saying that homosexuality was like "birth control" as it could only ever be "sex for pleasure" got me wondering about same sex couples bringing up children together.

So do you think it would make a difference to the child's wellbeing or development if they were brought up by gay parents?

What if one was the natural parent but they had a same sex partner later on?

Would it make any difference if it was an all male or all female relationship?

I haven't got an opinion on this as I have no experience, but it would be interesting to see what others thought.

Atomik
09-01--2006, 04:23 PM
The only problems that I see are problems that arise from prejudice and social norms. I don't see any inherent problem with gay adoption.

Paul
09-01--2006, 04:28 PM
The only problems that I see are problems that arise from prejudice and social norms. I don't see any inherent problem with gay adoption.
That is the thing though ... seeing that there are social predujices, would it really be right to go ahead knowing that it may affect the child's treatment in school etc? I agree with it in principle, but children aren't there for conducting social experiments on.

Also, would a child be missing out by not having both male and female role models? (Although I know that many children miss out on this anyway)

Atomik
09-01--2006, 04:35 PM
Children can find role models in many areas outside the father/mother partnership. I was brought up by my mother, and I don't think I suffered for that.