PDA

View Full Version : World News Streetpapers - Homelessness

elfqueenofrohan
21-09--2006, 05:00 PM
You read the Big Issue! Awesome.. I work at the Amsterdam streetpaper.. so see first hand how important the streetpapers are.. thanks for buying one! :D

(slightly off-topic but what's their importance?)

velvet
21-09--2006, 05:13 PM
Made a new thread from this.

The selling of streetpapers give homeless a chance to earn some money in an honest way.. this way they don't have to beg, steal or be without any money.

There are streetpapers in a lot of countries.. there is an international organisation that keeps taps on them, the INSP:
http://www.street-papers.org/

I work as an assistant coordinator at the Amsterdam streetpaper, which exists for over 10 years now and is the biggest in the country.

Don't have much time now.. gotta run.. ask me anything you want about it :)

elfqueenofrohan
21-09--2006, 09:07 PM
oh okay! so in other words it's a good idea to buy the big issue and stuff? i've always just seen people selling it as an irritance in the past, and yet if i see someone sitting on the streets i'll give them money!
O.o

sensamelia
22-09--2006, 11:05 AM
i always buy the big issue as its a good read
me and my daughter at christmas make boxes up for our local big issue sellers and my huby takes them out
they are well appreciated and i feel as i can only do little to help its something

selling the big issue is often the first step to gaining back some self respect and earning power

velvet
22-09--2006, 11:12 AM
oh okay! so in other words it's a good idea to buy the big issue and stuff? i've always just seen people selling it as an irritance in the past, and yet if i see someone sitting on the streets i'll give them money!
O.o

Ok got some more time now so I can reply a bit more lengthy.